New York

In New York, there are City Courts, Justice Courts, Supreme Courts, County Courts, District Courts, Family Courts, Surrogates Courts, and three appellate courts. The appeals courts consist of the Appellate Terms of the Supreme Court, the Appellate Divisions of the Supreme Court, and the Court of Appeals.

City Courts and Justice Courts (Town & Village Courts) handle small claims, small civil, misdemeanors, violations, and felony arraignments. Supreme Courts handle civil cases, and in New York City only, they also hear felony cases. County Courts handle civil, misdemeanor, and felony cases. District Courts in Suffolk and Nassau handle misdemeanors and civil cases up to $15,000. Family Courts handle adoption, child support, and custody matters. Surrogates Courts are responsible for estates, probate of wills, and guardianship matters.

  • Click on "New York PACER" access Federal civil, criminal, and bankruptcy court records.
  • Under "Featured Links" you'll find the court databases that cover the most New York counties and cities, e.g. the New York State Unified Court System online WebCivil system, county Supreme Court cases and decisions, current court cases and calendars.
  • In the "Links" section you'll find county records such as WebCrims that aren't available statewide.

Go to our New York Criminal Records section for more criminal record databases such as county inmate databases and local arrest reports.  Or go to our New York Public Records section for more New York statewide, countywide, and local public record databases.


New York PACER United States District Court Records

If you find a broken link below, please use the Report a Broken Link form to let us know.

  • New York Court Records |

Premium Databases

  • New York Criminal Records

    Do a comprehensive background search of over 500 million court, inmate, corrections, offender, and fugitive records.