Search Free Public Records

Free Public Records at          Search by Type of Record          Court Records          Montana

Search Systems Premium

Criminal Records
Bankruptcies, Judgments, Liens
Tenant Screening
National Security Databases


People Search
Reverse Phone Lookup
Background Check
Instant Email Lookup
Instant Property Report



In Montana, there are limited jurisdiction courts, general jurisdiction courts, special courts, and a single appellate court -- the Montana Supreme Court.

Limited jurisdiction courts include City Courts, Municipal Courts, and Justice Courts. Collectively they handle ordinance violations, misdemeanor cases, civil cases up to $12,000, small claims cases, and juvenile matters.

District Courts are the courts of general jurisdiction. Montana is divided into 22 judicial districts, which have a total of 56 District Courts. These courts handle all felony and probate cases, and most civil cases.

Specialized courts in Montana include the Worker’s Compensation Court and the Water Court, which handles water rights matters.

Montana provides online access to Supreme Court records, but lower court records are not yet accessible. You should contact the Clerk of Court for case information relating to District Court records or limited jurisdiction court records. Use the resources below to access U.S. District Court federal civil, criminal, and bankruptcy records; Supreme Court cases & opinions; bankruptcies; and judgments.

If you find a broken link below, please use the Report a Broken Link form to let us know.

  • Public Records

Public Records

Please use the Report Broken Link form if any of the above resources do not connect

Privacy Policy